The Law of Equilibrium and What’s to Come

Posted: August 15, 2011 in Off the mats..

Equilibrium, at times, seems to be the key to life. The yin yang of life is often what keeps us from losing our minds, both on and off the mats. Recently my wife and children took a trip out of town for summer vacation so I naturally stepped up my Jiu-Jitsu training and time at work to fill the void left by their departure. I will tell you that the void of my family’s love cannot be filled by my love for the sport. They’re home now and the girls and I played some Jiu-Jitsu games for the first time in a few months. It was glorious to roll with my kids again!

Dinner and Cocktails in Smyrna, TN

I will also tell you there is no close second to the brotherhood developed by friends and training partners on the mat. My friend and teammate Felix F. moved to Virginia Beach. I’ll be honest, I’m sorry to see him go. He started training with me last year and since then we’ve had some great times together. The most interesting was a business trip we took to Smyrna, Tennessee. I have family there who were kind enough to take us around for a delightful evening of dinner and cocktails. After turning in early, sometime between 8:00 P.M. and 5:00 A.M., we awoke and decided to go to Jiu-Jitsu Nation for some open mat training on Saturday morning. After about two hours of high quality instruction and rolling I was releasing the night prior’s dinner and cocktails all over the side of the highway while Felix slept in the backseat! As disappointed as I am to see him go, I think I’m equally proud to see that he decided to continue his training with Linxx Academy in Virginia. When, not if, he puts on his Blue Belt he will be a fine addition to any mat he rolls on… The Trap and Roll Masta! With his departure, the gap was almost immediately filled by Mr. Dorso – another new-belt to BJJ. The universe’s -1/+1 equilibrium system amazes me.

What’s next? Tatami is sending me one of their Gi’s to review! Stick around for a No-Holds Barred Breakdown of their Estilo Gi! BJJHQ has also promised me a rashguard to review so expect those to hit probably around the same time. On August 20th, Rodrigo Pinhero will be in town conducting a seminar at Competition 1 Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu which I may attend. Some friends and I will be travelling to Destin, FL for a Rener Gracie Mount Submission Mastery seminar on September 2nd at Destin MMA. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

