A Video Interview with Rener Gracie and the Return of the Gracie Technique of the Month

Posted: September 4, 2011 in Gracie Jiu Jitsu

I caught up with Rener Gracie at Destin Academy of Mixed Martial Arts and was able to pin him into a corner for a quick interview.  We covered a lot of material, to include but not limited to, the upcoming release of the blue belt stripe 1 test, politics in jiu-jitsu, cataloging his grandfathers techniques and last but not least the Gracie Technique of the Month for September 2011!!  Check it out!

 

Big thanks to Rener Gracie for giving up his time and Carlos Diaz from Destin Academy of Mixed Martial Arts for giving us a place to roll and shoot!

Comments
  1. […] A Video Interview with Rener Gracie and the Return of the Gracie Technique of the Month (via Jonny’s Jiu-Jitsu) Posted: September 5, 2011 by truekohken in Uncategorized Tags: gracie-jiu-jitsu 0 I caught up with Rener Gracie at Destin Academy of Mixed Martial Arts and was able to pin him into a corner for a quick interview.  We covered a lot of material, to include but not limited to, the upcoming release of the blue belt stripe 1 test, politics in jiu-jitsu, cataloging his grandfathers techniques and last but not least the Gracie Technique of the Month for September 2011!!  Check it out! Big thanks to Rener Gracie for giving up his time … Read More […]

  2. slideyfoot says:

    Thanks for doing that interview. Admittedly, I don’t like online belt testing: in short, I strongly feel that the lack of resistance before blue belt in Gracie University is a serious flaw (I go into much more depth here). The only (slightly) mitigating factor is that Rener et al have said in the past that from blue belt onwards, sparring will apparently be a factor.

    It is a shame that Rener stoops to the “haters gonna hate” non-argument at 03:45, but nevertheless I was interested to hear (around 07:00) that the sparring will include three rounds of five minutes each, split into gi, nogi, and ‘fight simulation’. I’m not sure what that last one entails: presumably some form of strikes?

    Either way, like I said on the YouTube comment, I really hope the lessons eventually come out on DVD. Despite my reservations about Gracie Combatives, I was very impressed with the level of teaching. If they release the stripe chapters on DVD, I’d love to take a look (I’m not so keen on buying them online, as that means I have to be connected to the internet every time I want to watch them).

Leave a Reply

