Tatami Fightwear GenX Rash Guard

Posted: October 10, 2011 in Gear, Gear and Reviews

This review is brought to you by BJJHQ.  One great deal a day on everything Jitz!  Check them out.

Initial Thoughts

I spent a good amount of my early time on the mats as an MMA guy.  I didn’t know nuttin’.  I showed up to train in shorts and a rash guard or t-shirt before even figuring out that what I was doing on the ground was Jiu-Jitsu.  My MMA days came to a halt with the realization that I suffer from a disease that plagues a lot of early fighter-wannabe’s… a glass jaw.  Granted, it took me probably a good six months to figure it out and another few to come to terms with it.  That said I have a pretty good idea of what the average-Joe who plays around in the gym is looking for in a rash guard.  I also know what the average Jiu-Jitsu player is looking for in a rash guard to wear under his gi or to a no-gi class.

The Tatami Fightwear GenX Rash Guard meets all three of those categories pretty well.  If you’re training in the MMA arena you probably don’t want a loose-fitting rash guard, especially if you’re planning on fighting, since odds are you won’t be wearing anything more than a pair of shorts in the cage anyway.  As a Jiu-Jitsu or ground player the tight-fitting rash guard is perfect for wearing underneath the gi or wearing to no-gi class.

Wear

Tatami’s GenX is smooth and reduces friction against the gi and mat.  You’re slick!  Another nice feature is that they’re dye sublimated so the print work won’t crack or peel.  I’ve had this happen on a few other rash guards of mine and it’s annoying.  It’s also longer in the torso so it doesn’t ride up and come untucked from the gi.

Durability

I’ve only had mine for a short time now so we’ll have to wait and see how the durability factor turns out but it looks like it’s going to be a solid piece of gear.  Triple stitched from the inside out is going to keep it from tearing at the seams and the high-stretch factor of polyspandex means it won’t ever really lose any shape.

The Wash

The only downside of this rash guard is that anything cotton sticks to it.  I wear a pretty old gi that’s seen a fair amount of mat time so the excess fluff is definitely all gone but somehow this rash guard managed to pull it out.  Since it’s the black and red GenX it’s pretty noticeable too.  Being the gear junkie and fashionista I am, I’m definitely irked by the fact that I’m going to have to lint roll my rash guard before training starts.  I followed the wash instructions with the first wash to check for shrinkage and see if the lint would come off but no joy.  I ran it through the dryer to see if that would help, and while it did improve, it did not fully remove all the lint left from my gi.

Style

Tatami offers Black/Red and White/Purple colors for their GenX range of rash guards.  The logo work is pretty sweet.  It’s reminiscent of some of the old-school logos.  I also like the “trim” design down the torso.  The lines move from the outside of the pectoral muscles to the inside of the hip-flexors, giving the wearer a more fit look (and making me look more in shape than I really am).  All in all, the design of the GenX is really well thought out and looks extremely good on the rack and the athlete.

Conclusion

Tatami really knows what they’re doing.  You can check out a review of their gi here where I was overly impressed.  Their styling is right on target and I’m glad to see that it’s not skulls and crossbones.    They also know how to put quality pieces of gear together that won’t stretch, rip, fade, shrink or crack.  By their stuff.

Comments
  1. […] Check out my original review of the Tatami Gen X Rash guard here. […]

Leave a Reply

